Required Hardware for server.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by AvD, Jul 4, 2008.

1. AvD

AvD Nibble Poster

Heya People! i hope your soaking up the wonderful weather, unless you in britian like myself then its dodging the random rain falls.

To the tasks at hand:

i've been pulled into a new company as there developer of ASP C#.net, but they have also asked what hardware requirements the office would need, the office would be just myself, and 4 others.

I need to know, what hardware for the server serving 5 different computers. the networking hardware, i.e. hub?
    etc etc.

there will be 3 computers runnign through the server, with possiblity of 2 adsl lines comming into the building, is there a way to allow the usage of both lines via the server to the 5 computers.

i've never built a multi user network before its always been wonderful cross overs or my xbox 360 hooked through my router to my pc.

anyhelp would be great!

WIP: A+, MCAD
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

We'll need a lot more info to answer that one.

Running two ADSL connections *can* be a problem, mostly from routing and load-balancing (if that is required). Why two?

What do you mean by 'machines running through the server'?

For 6 or so machines in an office just one switch will do nicely, unless you are going to be shipping Terabytes of video files about.

What router you might need will depend on just why you have two ADSL connections.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. AvD

AvD Nibble Poster

The two adsl lines aren't needed 1 will be fine, i've been stating that two lines aren't needed due to their sites being hosted externally. i'll throw the load balancing and router issues at them i've sure that'll curve that.

What i am looking for is What parts i'd need in the server, its going to be accessed by 5 different machines storing a fair amount of information.