Recruitment agencies - how do they work?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by turtle, Oct 27, 2006.

1. turtle

turtle New Member

I've been job hunting for about 2 weeks and recruitment agencies are driving me up the wall! I have 3 years of development experience, so far I've applied to about 80 jobs and had about 30 agencies calling me but I haven't got a single interview lined up. I'm just wondering if anyone knows how recruitment agencies work, are they really forwarding my CV to the client?

I've had situations where an agency calls me, they sound very enthusiastic and really sells the job to me. I send them a copy of my CV and they say they'll forward it onto their client. I never hear back from them. I tried calling some of them for feedback but they always come up with some excuse like "the client is still seeing more CVs..." So whenever I don't hear back, I assume I'm not shortlisted and don't chase up the agency.

Another experience I had, agency 1 emailed be about this job and they didn't specify which company it was, I replied and said the job sounds interesting, I'll call them back to discuss it further. Then later agency 2 calls me, they told me the company name and job role, it sounded great and so I agreed to have my CV put forward. The next day, agency 2 calls me back and said "another agency has already forwarded your CV, can you email the client that I was the first recruitment agency who contacted you and I'll represent you". So agency 1 must have forward on my CV without me knowing! I don't want to annoy either agency, who do I want to represent me? Agency 1 who is bigger and has more jobs advertised or Agency 2 who is more friendly and helpful? I don't want to piss off either agency.