Recommndations for Web Document Management Solution

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by Colloghi, Mar 22, 2011.

1. Colloghi

Colloghi Kilobyte Poster

Hope my title makes sense:)

Well got calld into a IT meeting today with the director, regarding access to an FTP server. No problem i thought, we have a FTP server.....Im new in this role, but im sure if I find out some little details........it really should be fine, and I can probably set this up myself:D

Although it wasnt an FTP server he wanted...................that figures

Basically Mr Director would like us to set up a Web based Document Management area, hosted offsite and our own internal staff. i guess really its like our own little private cloud we require......

The requiment is for our staff to be able to be offsite and take images of properties, upload the images to the document management site, and then our clients be able to log in with user credentials and view the images or documents availiable in a pretty but simple userface with our company logo. Currently photographs are taken and then emailed between clients and ourselves and the traffic really isnt great anyway on our network:|

This apparently is required within 2 weeks as our director has kindly told the client "WE CAN DO THIS", therefore we need a off the shelf product that can pretty much be ready to go and availiable from when we click the purchase button:D

For example of something that would be ideal

http://www.pennington.org.uk/our-services/workspace

Ive not really dealt with anywhere that does this apart from the free sites...........anyone with any recommendations for hosting solutions or advice regarding this would be great....I may have even got the terminolgy on this wrong:|

Certifications: A+, MCP 270, 271, MCDST
    WIP: 290
  2. Phoenix
    Honorary Member

Phoenix 53656e696f7220 4d6f64

smack your director upside the head for being a *****