Really could do with some guidance please :)

Discussion in 'A+' started by Juelz, Mar 7, 2013.

1. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster

Hi I really want to do my Comptia A+ Cert but I want to be sure that I have the correct information. Here are the questions I have (thought it would be easier to just put them in a list)

1. Am I right in thinking the two exams needed to obtain the qualifications are 220-701 & 220-702 ?

2. Am I right in thinking the 702 exam is practical? and if so how can this be self-taught?

How much does the exams cost? I found this price list on the official site Im in the UK so my currency is GBP, I noticed the price is £117 but is that for both exams? as it doesnt specify. (wont let me post the link)

4. are the two exams all I will need to get the cert?

5. Should I just go for the 801 802 exams instead of the 701 and 702 ?

Thanks

Last edited: Mar 7, 2013
  2. nXPLOSi

nXPLOSi Terabyte Poster

1. The 701 and 702 are only available until the 31st August 2013, so unless you can get them both done by then, go for the 801 and 802.

2. The questions in both exams are multiple choice and performance based, its just the theory behind the practical that you will be tested on.

3. The exams are £117 each.

4. Yes, if you pass the two exams, you get the A+ cert.

5. It all depends on how quickly you can get through the material and up to test standard. Do you have much experience in IT already or are you new to the field? Personally I would go for the 801 and 802, these are also available to take now, so if you were ready, your not held up.

HTH! 8)

Certifications: A+, Network+, Security+, MCSA 2003 (270, 290, 291), MCTS (640, 642), MCSA 2008
    WIP: MCSA 2012
  3. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster

Thanks for your reply its very much appreciated, I do have two more questions though.. isit true the comptia certs are only valid for three years? and that you have to pay an annual fee to stay qualified?