Quick question

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by feely, Jul 30, 2007.

1. feely

feely Bit Poster

Hi, I hope this is the right place to ask this question, if not, sorry :)

A local Tech is running a couse called "Implementing and Supporting MS Windows XP Professional (2272)" And it is run over 15 weeks.

I was wondering is this a qualification in its own right, or is it part of a bigger qualification? Would this course be worth doing?

Sorry about the questions, im new to the MS stuff.

Thanks in advance for any help and advice you(s) may give.

Certifications: HND Elect & Electronic Engineering
    WIP: A+, Network+ & BSc in Physics
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

It's not a qualification... it's a course. It can help you to pass the Microsoft 70-270 exam (which, if you pass it, will grant you the MCP certification), but the course by itself won't amount to much of anything in the real world.

Personally, if you're looking for certifications, I'd recommend self-study rather than pay big money for a course.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. Spilly

Spilly Kilobyte Poster

I don't think this one gives you a cert!

So unless your are getting it for free I think you would better spending your money on an 70-271.

This is only half of the MCDST qualification but it will kick start your career by giving you a MCP qualification. You can then add the 70-272 to get the MCDST.

If you are new to IT then do the Comptia A+ first.

Certifications: A+,N+,S+,MCP,MCDST,MCITP,MCTS,MCSA,CISMP,PCI-P,SSCP
    WIP: CCSK
  4. feely

feely Bit Poster