Question about cars

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by nisseki, Jan 4, 2018.

1. nisseki

nisseki Byte Poster

Hi guys,

I'm quite new to driving so I'm hoping anyone here can help me regarding car maintenance.

I've been away from home for over 6 weeks and my car has been sitting on my drive. The battery will definitely be dead but just wondering does anyone know if it can be damaging to not have driven a car for nearly 2 months?

Many thanks.

2. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

The only real damage will be to your engine as all the oil will sink down, what you could do is try and run it every week to keep the oil circulating, say about 10-15 mins. When I say damage, i dont mean your engine will blow, just extra wear on the parts that are dry. When you start it up for the first time, dont rev the engine like mad, just let it tick over for a good 20 mins

Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680
  3. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

I'm not much of a mechanic, but when I left my car standing for 12 months I came back to the following issues :-

1. Needed new brake discs and pads due to corrosion.
    2. Needed new springs due to corrosion.

The cost of the parts and labor were more than the value of the car.

I'd be interested to know how best to avoid these sorts of issues if sorning and storing a vehicle under a tarp for some time.

I'd also be interested in a mechanics view of what are good used cars in terms of performance saloons / coupes, in terms of engineering, cost of purchase, cost of ownership, etc.

4. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Have you tried starting it yet? Previously I had been working away for a couple of months and the car would start (just!) when I got home.

The hand brake may be seized on – if so try and rock the car back and forward and hopefully it will release.