Question about AD account usernames

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by dalsoth, Feb 7, 2009.

1. dalsoth

dalsoth Kilobyte Poster

Hi guys

I may sound like a real newbie here but i just have never come across this before. I am going through stuff on the 70-290 MS Press book and i have been messing about myself creating additional users and things to enforce my understanding of the way MS do things.

The confusion comes from where i have users i have created with names such as jbloggs who i log on to a client machine with that username and password.

I also have created some accounts such as danielle.tiedt and hank.carbeck from the MS lessons.

When i try to log on to a client machine with the username danielle.tiedt i get nowhere. When i try [email protected] it works. I checked the username in the account settings and yes everything is fine and i would expect the @contoso.com bit would work. I would also expect the dienelle.tiedt bit would work on it's own as it does on users i have created myself.

Is it because they have a period in between the first and last names? Really simple answer i expect but has stumped me.

Anyone on here able to enlighten me?

Certifications: MCSE, MCP, MCDST, MCSA, ITIL v3
    WIP: MCITP EA
  2. MLP

MLP Kilobyte Poster

Hi Dalsoth

On the login window, have you changed the drop down box that's labeled 'Log On To' from the client name to the domain name? It sounds like the machine is looking for danielle.tiedt in it's local users database, rather than in Active Directory. By specifying the @contoso.com part of the username, you are telling the client that this is a domain account.

Maria

Certifications: HND Computing
  3. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Also make sure the IP addresses are setup correctly. The DNS IP of the PC must be pointing at the DC you are logging into to make sure the whole logon process is as smoth as possible.