Problems with multiple users on Mozilla

Discussion in 'Wireless' started by Wisteria, Nov 22, 2007.

1. Wisteria

Wisteria New Member

Hi - I am a newbie and not very technically minded I'm afraid so please be gentle with me!

I've recently installed a wireless router in my office with two other machines (one a laptop and one a downstairs pc) networked to it. The problem is, that as soon as one of the subsidiary machines is turned on and finds it's connection I lose my internet connection upstairs on the main computer. I can still access the net through my windows mail and it works fine so there is obviously a connection there but I can't get onto the web...... any ideas?

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

Mozilla what? Firefox? Or something else?

How is all this connected together?

You say that you 'lose your internet connection', but say you can access the 'net. Is your 'windows mail' Outlook?

Best thing to test whether things are working is to bring up a cmd window on each machine and type "ping news.bbc.co.uk" and see if they all work. If they do then the basic network is working.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. Wisteria

Wisteria New Member

Hi - and thank you for responding.

I'l try to be clearer; I have a connection through all machines at the same time but cannot access the web from my main machine if one of the other machines is on (internet connection is triggered on start up). I have a connection to the internet as I can still access my windows mail (new version of outlook) and send and receive mail etc but as soon as I try to open mozilla (firefox) or any other website I just get told that Firefox can't find the server....

I don't understand it at all! What's a CMP window (sorry for being clueless)?

4. hbroomhall

Ah! This is Vista!