Power Supply Testing ???

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Co9, May 11, 2009.

1. Co9

Co9 Nibble Poster

Dear All,

Am now the proud owner of a Vastech Deluxe ATX2.0 Power Supply Tester.
    A couple of weeks ago my daughter switched on to no avail and I now want to ascertain for sure whether it is the power supply or the mobo. Despite the instructions on the unit and total absense of any others for total newbies - I just need to know I'm doing things the right way.
    I know to test the power supply with a multimeter the supply needs to be connected to the mobo. The power supply is now uninstalled and disconnected from the system - I believe this little tester is what I need if I want to test the power supply without a mobo. Anyway -earlier I connected it up to the supply tester and plugged into the power supply cable and into the wall ( which I have tested and know to be supplying power including the cable ) - none of the lights appeared on the tester and therefore nothing happened - is this my conclusion that the power supply is not working ?????
    Please can you let me have the correct procedure for using this device / power tester if (as I fear) I have totally missed the point.

Many Thanks

Co9:D:D

WIP: A+
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Well there are many different varieties of power supply testers, so there is no difinitive answer. Surely it came with instructions? if not search the Internet and see if you can find some.

On a side note, if your PC is totally dead, the chances of it being the power supply is very high.

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

you need to have the power supply connected to the mobo, power supplys don't work unless they are connected.