Please help!!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Darren_W, May 19, 2011.

1. Darren_W

Darren_W New Member

Hi everyone.

My name is Darren and I am a ICT Teacher in Cardiff.

With the teaching industry like it is and over 50+ applicants for one job I have decided to come out of teaching and go into industry.

I have an Business Information Systems degree and I have managed to secure a Tech Support (1st line support) job at Logica.

However, the wage is only 12k and coming from a teaching wage I am going to struggle.

What i'm trying to find out is:

1.) How quick can I progress from first line support and is this the standard wage?

2.) I don't have any experience of first line support but I am eager to compliment my ICT degree with other qualifications - Can you recommend any?

3.) What comes after first line support and job prospects for the future?

Any advice is much appreciated!

Darren :)

2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

Stay in teaching.

Teaching is a difficult industry to get into, when you consider the qualifications required and CRB checks etc.
    It is also fairly recession-proof, to the extent that, no matter how bad the economy, we generally have the same number of kids going to school...

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  3. Darren_W

Darren_W New Member

Hi Jonny,

It isn't at all recession proof. Unfortunately there are next to no jobs out there and you are faced with day-to-day supply where the kids show you total disrespect and you got to deal with all the s**t.

I am very confused where to go with this - I have secured a first line role and I could go there and progress. Or I could stay in teaching and do day-to-day supply and hope something comes my way?

The issue I also have is there is another 25,000 teachers qualifying with the hope of getting jobs aswell??

4. Mariusz

Mariusz Byte Poster

I think you are just bored with your job.