Please help?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by darrenwis, Feb 23, 2009.

1. darrenwis

darrenwis Bit Poster

Hi,

As you may of heard over the last few days, I graduated in 2007 with a 2.1 in BSc Business Information Systems but as of yet haven't got an I.T. job.

The book for the A+ should be here tomorrow and I am going to start it as soon as possible and complete the exams when i feel confident. I will then move on to N+ and MCDST.

When I am at this point, hopefully by the end of the year I hope to then go out and secure my first I.T. job. With those qualifications in place do you think I would be an attractive applicant to employers?

There doesn't seem to be much in the way of jobs down in Wales at the moment so I may have to look to travel aswell! Or do I stay and spend a year doing a masters such as MSc in Strategic Information Systems with Information Assurance but then I would be 25 and still no I.T. experience!?!?

Advice please!! :D

Thanks,
    Darren

Certifications: BSc (hons)
    WIP: A+
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

You're probably an attractive applicant to employers NOW. Certifications only make you more attractive. With that in mind, you shouldn't wait until you are certified to start looking. Every day you're not in IT is another day you're not building what employers REALLY want an applicant to have: experience.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

what if I told you I finished my HND in 99 struggled in dead end jobs for a while whilst paying of debts from uni and now am only getting some decent IT exposure, because thats how it's gone for me.