Passed A+ - Reviewed...

Discussion in 'A+' started by Dullage, Sep 16, 2008.

1. Dullage

Dullage Byte Poster

Passed my A+ today :D and thought I'd share my experiences...

Training material used:

- Mike Meyers AIO (6th Edition) I loved this book. I hadn't 'book studied' since I'd left school but this book was fantastic and made the jump into self study painless.
    This was my main study guide but I did also have:
    - PC Technician Street Smarts: A Real World Guide to CompTIA A+
    - A+ Certification Exam Cram
    - The Internet/CF

I have to say I didn't read the other 2 books as the Mike Meyers AIO was so great.

Studying:

I spent about 4-5 weeks studying this book a couple of hours a day and exploring what I had learnt on my PCs. I had a reasonable amount of experience working with computer Hardware/OS before I started studying so 4-5 weeks may not be enough time for some people (This also obviously also depends on how much time you spend revising each day)

Before I started reading the book I marked each chapter with a post-it index marker so I could 'at a glance' see how I had progressed. I tried to read at least 1 chapter per sitting and recorded my 'End of chapter Review Questions' results so I could see what areas I need to revisit.

The Test:

Heres a few notes I made about the test on another post...

Further to "this thread" I'd like to thank CF and its members for helping me plan my learning path and providing an excellent source of knowledge. :biggrin

N+ Book has now arrived, it begins again :ohmy

Certifications: A+
    WIP: Network +
  2. Markyboyt

Markyboyt Kilobyte Poster

:thumbleft Congrats on the pass dude, sounds like you went in prepped up and raring to go and it payed off a treat. Good advice also.

WIP: A+
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Well done on the pass :)

And good info given about exam prep. Rep given

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270