Overwhelmed

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Danshand, Oct 21, 2009.

1. Danshand

Danshand Nibble Poster

Hi guys,

Hopefully started this thread in the right place, but if not admin please move it!

I am currently studying for the MCITP:EA and have so far done 2 exams. One thing I have noticed while studying for my next exam (70-640) is how much information there is to take in. I have been working in IT since I left school and now have 6 years experience in various areas of IT, mainly Microsoft network admin.

Reading through the books I am understanding the material, and a lot of it I have had first hand experience with in production environments. But the more I read, the more little things come up, and I think to myself, "wow thats handy I didn't know that!". Everytime this happens I can't help thinking, how much can I learn and remember before my head explodes!?!

I understand the information, but I worry that after sitting the exam there are certain settings I may forget from time to time as I don't always use them. Then you look at the guys that write the books and they seem to know everything about everything and it just worries me a little as I think to myself, will I ever achieve that level of knowledge?

I guess the thing I would like peoples opinion on is, how do you guys find it when studying? Personally I like to find out extra things and realise there is so much more to learn, its why I started my career in IT. Other times however it worries me, as I think to myself just how long do I have to have done this to become the top of the game?

Does anybody else get this, or is it just me?

(Sorry for long, and possibly pointless thread, its just something which has really been on my mind the last 24 hours and is making mildly depressed!)

Certifications: Many.
    WIP: MCITP, ITIL
  2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

Not just you mate.