Overclocking

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sambangert, Mar 13, 2008.

1. sambangert

sambangert Bit Poster

Hi,

I'm interested in overclocking my processor but i'm a complete newbie at this. I sort of did it last night but got a bit scared i'd screw my processor up. I turned the fsb up and that was about it but i'm unsure whether i need to change the voltage and/or ram settings in the bios. Can anyone help me.

What im running

Core 2 duo e6300 Manufacturers heatsink & fan. (got it to just above 2ghz last night)
    Asus P5VD2-MX ACPI BIOS Revision 1003
    2g ram: 1 x kingston PC2-5300 333mhz
    1 x unknown PC2-5300 333mhz

Is the ram i'm using unsuitable??? Is my motherboard any good for overclocking. (The ram details i have posted are from cpu-z).

thanks

WIP: A+
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

the ram you are using is sloooooooooooooooooooooooooow and I am not sure if that will overclock, but the way it usually works is you go into the bios and add to the voltage being supplied to the cpu and ram so you can increase the fsb and other settings

I have never done as it I can't afford a new PC if I end up blowing the cpu and mobo. If your PC is under a warranty of any kind then overclocking will void that warranty so if something goes wrong the system builders will not fix it.

and to be honest if you want a faster board and cpu than the one you have buying wont be that expensive.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

IMHO - you want a faster machine then buy it. Overclocking is an invitation for instability and shorter component life.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  4. sambangert

sambangert Bit Poster