"out of office" in the AD?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Big_nath, Oct 13, 2008.

1. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

Hi, we have a user that is unexpectedly off work for a few weeks. Is there a way of creating an out of office response through the user account in the AD, instead of doing it through office.

Appologies if this is a simple thing, i have limited knowledge of exchange.

Certifications: MCP, MCSA, MCSA:M, MCSE, MCTS
    WIP: A few
  2. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

I dont believe so, no.

But if you are a mailbox admin, you will have the ability to create a new outlook profile on your machine in their name, and open up their mailbox, where you can create an OOO for them.

Certifications: ITIL Foundation; MCTS: Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2010, Administration
    WIP: None at present
  3. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

So simple, thanks i give that a go.

4. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

Same comments as Fergal. :p If they were foolish enough to not put an Out of Office message on then you'll need to apply it inside their Mailbox Profile.

Qs

Certifications: MCT, MCSE: Private Cloud, MCSA (2008), MCITP: EA, MCITP: SA, MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003, MCITP: EDA7, MCITP: EDST7, MCITP: EST Vista, MCTS: Exh 2010, MCTS:ServerVirt, MCTS: SCCM07 & SCCM2012, MCTS: SCOM07, MCTS: Win7Conf, MCTS: VistaConf, MCDST, MCP, MBCS, HND: Applied IT, ITIL v3: Foundation, CCA
  5. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

Ah, but don't i still need their password? I want to avoid changing it. Sorry my boss has been off sick the last few weeks, would usually ask him.

6. Arroryn

Arroryn we're all dooooooomed Moderator

If it's simply that their mailbox needs monitoring, is setting up mail forwarding a viable solution?

It can be configured to forward to a specified AD account AND still go into the intended mailbox, so your user need never know..... (as long as read receipts don't get in the way :tune)