Open University - worth it?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by nisseki, Jun 9, 2018.

1. nisseki

nisseki Byte Poster

Hey guys,

I have a HND but would like to top up for a degree.

The OU is appealing to me as it's distance learning and seems cheaper than a traditional university.

Has anyone done a OU degree or know someone that has?

Yay or nay?

JK2447 likes this.
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Hi Nisseki. A good question. I did my degree with the OU and would highly recommend it as it fits around your life. At the time I was working shifts l, 4 on 4 off so it was impossible for me to attend regular classes. I could also carry on earning while I studied. I believe this method of study is popular in the states.
    You do still have to attend the odd class. It depends on what you’re studying but these are usually in the evenings or weekends.
    All exams are usually held in a local university with proctors so if you don’t know your stuff, you will fail in the same way as you would at any university.
    The quality of teaching is very high in my experience. Sometimes professors earning more money teaching OU students in addition to a day job.
    Overall I’ve got nothing but praise for the OU. The only downside I can think of is that you miss out on being a party animal (potentially), but that was fine with me as I was early twenties and bored of all of that.
    I chose the OU because of the flexibility, because I could keep earning, my employer at the time paid for mine so I’m very lucky and had zero debt for a degree (friends have 40k) and because I’d always regretted not going to uni after my A Levels. I had a place at Liverpool to study Biochemistry but my heart wasn’t in it and I had the opportunity to start as a Junior Mainframe Operator, which would pay for a lot more beer than being a student :)