One-Trick-Pony vs. Multi-Vendor-Skills

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Billy, Nov 11, 2004.

1. Billy

Billy Bit Poster

What are you thoughts on this?

I know a lot of people who have only set out and takin on Microsoft skills and certifications and put more weight on lets say an MCSE rather than lets say an MCSA & Linux & Cisco...

I think that my thoughts may come across a little bias as I studied and got my MCSA, Linux+ and CCNA, however I wouldn't be working in the position I am now if I didn't have these skills.

I know that my boss wouldn't employ anyone with an MCSE and with no commercial experience AND for the fact that we're running MS and Red Hat... The MCSE Electives are useless as we don't run a the MS backend products, such as:

SQL - Oracle
    Exchange - Send Mail
    Proxy - Squid
    IIS - Apache

Do you think some people get into IT and not truely understand what employers are looking for?

Certifications: A+, N+, Linux+ MCSA & CCNA
    WIP: MCSE
  2. Phil
    Honorary Member

Phil Gigabyte Poster

I think you really only get to know what employers are looking for once you have the commercial experience. Even then every employer is different.

When you took your certs were you specifically targetting companies which had the knid of environment you are working in now or were you getting as broad a range of skills as possible in the hope of being attractive to as wide a range of employers as possible? There are many completely MS shops out there where the Linux+ would have done you no good, though I think the CCNA will serve you well whatever environment you're in.

Phil

Certifications: MCSE:M & S MCSA:M CCNA CNA
    WIP: 2003 Upgrade, CCNA Upgrade
  3. Phoenix
    Honorary Member

Phoenix 53656e696f7220 4d6f64

I agree with Phil