On the IT scrap heap at 42?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by mackem66, Feb 10, 2009.

1. mackem66

mackem66 New Member

Hi,what a great forum with some valuable information on pretty much everything certification wise!

I've been out of IT for a few years,having taken time out to be with my young Son,now 2 1/2 years old,and wish to re-enter the industry.I have a few years experience in hardware installations,helpdesk,networking and project roll-outs but these were all 3 or four years ago.My last certification was an MCSE in NT.

I've maintained an interest in IT,and have been working through local newspaper ads installing and configuring customer's PC's and hardware at their homes.

I've now moved to a rural location where any work,let alone IT,is sparse.I'm considering taking a CCNA,which I'm confident I could pass with the appropriate amount of effort,however I've heard that employers aren't keen on the over 40's despite legislation to the contrary.I read somewhere on here that HR depts quickly discount people of my age (42),even if they have some experience,if they have been out of the industry for a while.

What are my realistic chances of securing something,particularly during these dire economic times?any opinions and experiences welcome!!

Certifications: mcse nt
  2. zebulebu

zebulebu Terabyte Poster

Hi - welcome to the forum from a Charlton fan. I will always have a soft spot for your lot after that playoff final back in '98 :)