Old PCs

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by twobellies, Feb 20, 2006.

1. twobellies

twobellies Bit Poster

Hi people,

I am studying for A+ in my own time and was wondering where is the best place to pick up an old desktop PC to mess around with etc....

Tom

Certifications: none yet!
    WIP: A+ N+
  2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

umm my best bet would be ebay... one place i got a few things for my lab (even delivered to cyprus for me!!) is Computer Reclaim 8)

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. twobellies

twobellies Bit Poster

Thanks I'll give that a try!

tom

4. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Other sources:

Second hand dealers at computer fairs

Local free-ad rags (although some people have an inflated idea of the worth of their old PCs!)

Local dealers wanting to throw PCs taken in part-ex

Freecycle

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  5. twobellies

twobellies Bit Poster

Nice one Harry! I'll see if my local repair shop has anything he wants to dispose of.

Tom

6. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

While Ebay is great for literally everything when it comes to desktop PC's the cost for delivery is usually £20 plus....

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  7. Colloghi

Colloghi Kilobyte Poster

Find out where your local car boot is and pop along, tons of computer equipment for cheap on decent car boot :)

Certifications: A+, MCP 270, 271, MCDST
    WIP: 290
  8. Flipside

Flipside Bit Poster

Very true. Although this significantly cuts down your choice the best thing is to choose an item you're prepared to collect.

WIP: A+
  9. Paul_o

Paul_o Nibble Poster

Have a look to see if there is a freecycle group in your area, i know round here there is always someone getting rid of old PC's for nothing.
    Paul.

Certifications: C&G Advanced diploma in network support
  10. moominboy

moominboy Gigabyte Poster