Offer of Paid Training

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by silver, Aug 27, 2012.

1. silver

silver New Member

Work have offered to provide me with training of my choice.

I work as a Technician and have been in IT for many years but no qualifications (kind of)

I live in South Cumbria and cannot find any class based studying.

To become a network techy or manager what is the best course?

I thought of MCSA.

Any thoughts... Thanks in advance

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

It really depends on what you want to do, what you work with and how much funding you actually got on offer.

I'd say if you can (as you have stated that you have no qualifications), try to see if you can get on an apprenticeship program - preferable a level 3 one.

This would get you an NVQ 3 (certificate or diploma, depending on the number of modules you do), key skills and the technical cert which can be a Microsoft, Comptia or Cisco cert(s) - this would be your choice depending on the technology that you work with. With that you can then look at the ICTTech mark from the IET and ECUK.

If you wanted to progress to management, maybe some sort of project management cert or qualification (eg Prince2, a project management module in the NVQ or Project+), ITIL or FITS (as FITS is based on ITIL) or even a management qualification (eg NVQ in Team Leading, as you're not in management yet).

To be honest, there is a wide variety or options out there. You may even want to start your Higher education studies with the aim for the HNC/CertHE/HND/DipHE/Degree with the OU starting with the TM128 - Microsoft Server Technologies.

We can give all the advice under the sun, but you have a have a plan of where you want to go/do and evaluate where you are now :)

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. ade1982