Newbie on here, need some advise on A+ Cert

Discussion in 'A+' started by hp88, Sep 19, 2011.

1. hp88

hp88 New Member

Hello

I stubbled upon your after doing a bit of research into doing home study courses and it's very helpful so far. I bit aboutmy self, I graduated from university with a degree in BSc Computer System Networks and like many other graduates I am officially job hunting. Unfortunately I lack the industrial experience so finding work has become bit of struggle, this is why I have decided to take a course in course in the meantime as it will (a) add something onto my cv and (b) stop me from goings nuts as im stuck at home.

After doing a bit of research into the various certs (CompTIA, MS, Cisco..) I have decided to choose the CompTIA A+ cert.

Now I had two options either do the home study method or pay a training company £300 to £500. I have opted for the home study option as I have realised it can be pretty successful after reading a couple of stories on here.

So in order for me to get started I need a little help on the choosing the right books and possibly getting hold of some past Papers.

I used the search function on here it's pretty clear the Mike Myers CompTIA A+Certification All-in-One is more or less the essential for anyone taking this exam so it's on my shopping list. Has anyone got a ISBN for the latest edition? I also came across the Passport version of the above book, I am assuming it's a condensed version but is it good enough to use as the sole learning material? I have also found a website where i can watch the Professor Messer video's, so theres another learning aid for me.

Also guys can you confirm the exams below are correct for the A+ and the most update.

220-701 CompTIA A+ Essentials
    220-702 CompTIA A+ Practical

Thanks
    H

2. Poley

Poley Bit Poster

welcome to the forums :-)