Newbie, needs help

Discussion in 'Software' started by sparkey77, Feb 5, 2009.

1. sparkey77

sparkey77 Bit Poster

Hi all

I’m new to computers so please bear with me, I’ve a old pc running XP professional. The problem is just before the desktop would normally open after boot process the blue screen of death briefly flicks up then goes to the screen allowing you to access safe mode, I’ve tried repair via recovery disk to no avail, and removed last few programs/drivers installed. I want to wipe the hard drive clean and start again, how do I do this from safe mode or CMOS /BIOS as these are the only areas I can access. I’m guessing this may be a long way around but I’m studying for my A+ so it would help me to know this process anyway.
    Apologies for possibly not explaining things very well.

Cheers :D

Certifications: MCDST & Network +
    WIP: MCSA
  2. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

I'm assuming you have a XP pro CD.

Put CD in you drive.

Restart the pc and enter the bios.

Change the boot settings in the bios to use you CD/DVD drive as 1st boot, an save the settings.

It will then say press any key to boot from CD.. so do that.

then follow the prompts.

You will obviously lose all data and programs you currently have.

Certifications: MCP, MCSA, MCSA:M, MCSE, MCTS
    WIP: A few
  3. sparkey77

sparkey77 Bit Poster

Hi
    Did all of that before posting question, everything went well with install/repair no obvious problems, but the same problem keeps occuring, tried 3 times, it's why i thought wiping the hard drive and starting again would be the best answer.
    Thanks for reply though, if you have anyother suggestions keep them coming.
    Cheers again:D

4. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

Do you know what the BSOD error is?

Restart and press F8 after the bios and before the windows logo appears (with the progess bar under it). and select disable system restart after failure. then the BSOD will not disappear.

let us know the error.

5. Qs