Newbie alert

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by ptee, Mar 20, 2009.

1. ptee

ptee New Member

Hi guys, stumbled onto this site after researching some MS certification. Have had a quick nosey and been impressed with the knowledge on here so thought I'd say hello :)
    The reason I've been researching certs is I currently work in IT for a major financial institution that has recently been taken over and there's a good chance I will be 'potentially' redundant some time in the short-medium term (12-36months).

I have a good amount of experience 8+ yrs and having worked my way to a senior analyst position I have some very good skills/experience supporting a wintel environment from WinNT to W2k3 and first level support of a whole range of apps from Exchange/SQL/Oracle/Citrix/Web. I also have a couple years experience on the AS/400/iSeries platform. I could go on! It all sounds great but I'm somewhat worried in that I don't have a single IT qualification :eek: and work just refuse to pay to certify me :x
    Everything I've learnt has been self taught/learnt on the job or from in-house courses and I'm beginning to think that I may come a cropper if I have to start handing my CV out to potential employers and have to hope that my word, and a reference from my employer, is enough to convince them I can do a job.

So I'm thinking it would be a good idea to look at some certs to back up my experience.
    What I can't decide is, is it best to fork out on a tutor led course or go self study? If I took the self study option I'm lucky enough to have a books24x7.com IT pro account via work which means I have access to pretty much any book I want at no cost but I don't know which books I'd need, there seems so many different ones :blink

I'm thinking of going down the MCSA route rather than MCSE as that's more on the lines of my current role.
    Also thinking of doing either the MOS or MCAS to back up my office skills.