Newbie! A+ course and exams

Discussion in 'A+' started by Helen., May 17, 2011.

1. Helen.

Helen. Bit Poster

Hi guys, new to this forum.

I've just started a course where I am currently studying for the A+ certification.

I have been given the "CompTIA A+ Certification COMPREHENSIVE 2009 Edition, revised volume 1 and 2 - student manuel." Are there any other books you could recommend? I am a student so I cannot afford expensive books. Free or cheap resources would be great.

Also, my exam is in 4 weeks and i've already been studying for 4 weeks and I do not feel ready in the slightest. I'm going over old stuff and it's like i'm learning it for the first time.

Also, why am I being tought from this book, and in all the practice tests I have taken, about technologies that went out of date 10/20 years ago? It seems pointless as it will never be used.

And speeds, beep codes, numeric codes and the names of all these cables/how many pins they all have and their names... am I really going to get questioned on little things like this in so much detail?

Sorry, pretty nervous about this exam, I know it's a long way away...

Thanksss guys.

Certifications: A+, Network+
    WIP: MCTS/MCITP
  2. fliquid

fliquid Nibble Poster

Hi Helen,

This book is supposed to be good: CompTIA A+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, Seventh Edition Exams 220-701 & 220-702: Amazon.co.uk: Michael Meyers: Books

Not sure about all the beep codes, number of pins, etc. I'm sure someone else can help with that....

Good luck!

Certifications: MCDST, A+, N+, S+, ITIL v3F, 70-642
    WIP: CCENT
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome to CF

The most recommended book for the A+ is compTIA A+ all in one exam guide 7th edition by Mike Meyers.