new to mcdst

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by bonesy, Aug 8, 2009.

1. bonesy

bonesy New Member

hi everyone i just joined. i started learning this mcdst (70-271) on a recommendation from a friend and so far its been really understandable with all the information out there (microsoft's book, cbt nuggets and this site).
    but iv'e been using the practice tests from the readiness review suite and transcender and im finding them really hard especially the readiness review.

i got 73% on the transcender but i think i can get better on my second try but iv'e done the readiness review twice and have gotten 51% both times, im finding it hard to read the questions as they are worded so confusingly to the point where im spending over 5 minutes just looking at a question trying to make sense of it.

is there anything else i can do as im taking the exam next friday. i find that the book doesn't help that much, so what i end up doing is learning from my mistakes in the practice exam which helps a bit.

Certifications: 70-271
    WIP: 70-272, A+ in a bit
  2. Adrian.Popescu

Adrian.Popescu Byte Poster

Maybe study more and re-book the exam? Don't take it if you don't feel 100%. I've learnt from my past experiences that the frame of mind you go in for the exam matters very much, so going to take it while being paranoid and scared won't help. Make sure you read carefully all the question you get wrong and understand why your answers were wrong. I'm currently studying for this exam and have the same problem, after reading the book i thought it was quite simple and was going to book the exam until i did the Transcender questions and scored 50%. Now im reading the book again, bullet pointing all the small detail i need to know and then doing another practice exam out of the five you get from Transcender. If i score well in that i'll take it from there if i don't ... more studying :(. Good luck and keep us updated.

Certifications: City&Guild's Level2&3, CompTIA A&N+, MCP