New to I.T

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by macattack007, Nov 17, 2010.

1. macattack007

macattack007 New Member

Hi All

I am kinda new to this thig so go easy...lol

I was just after a bit of help n info please.

I am currently employed as a prison officer and want to get into I.T (ccna etc) Any help, advice tips would be great.
    I just spoke to a gent fro commsupport, nice chap although I dont have any experience in networking cisco etc it just all sounds so daunting and to walked out of a prison into I.T with very little to no experience is very hard to do.
    All these training companies promise you this and promise you that, what a load of rubbish. Any advice would be great....Thanks

2. cosway

cosway Nibble Poster

Hi macattack007,

The best advice I can give is to go for the Comptia A+ or Microsoft MCDST, both require 2 exams each, and are considerd entry level quals.

Forget those training providers, just get a study book from amazon (Mike Myers is good for Comptia A+ , around £20. The Microsoft Self Paced Study Packs for the Microsoft exams- around £30) work through the book and when you are ready book the exam through prometric. (Microsoft are about £80 each and Comptia are about £120 each).

You will also be looking at entry level IT work, such as helpdesk or IT technition -

I'm employed in the eudcation sector (they are not too fussy about experance or quals and your previous employment would be seen as an advantage in most schools). Most GCSE level schools have one or 2 IT support people, but pay isn't too great - just treat it as a stepping stone. Keep studying and once you have about 1-2 years experance, your officaly in the IT industry (more or less) :)

Certifications: MCDST, MCSA, A+
    WIP: MCSE
  3. LukeP

LukeP Gigabyte Poster

Hi

I replied to your second post without seeing this one first. Sorry about that.