New to Certification

Discussion in 'A+' started by supertodd, Sep 25, 2005.

1. supertodd

supertodd New Member

Hi there,

I'm new to this certification lark. I've got 'a'-level and hnd computing, but I'd like that little extra shine on my CV, namely an A+, hopefully leading onto something like a Network + and beyond.

Do you wise members believe it's possible for me to go it alone and sit the exam without splashing out a grand I don't have on a 5 days course?

I know since you don't know me it's tough but has anyone here gone it alone without breaking the bank?

Anyone gone further and done a CCNA or CNA (netware) without the classroom side at a grand a go?

Cheers.

Certifications: HND Computing
    WIP: CompTIA A+
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I'm going it alone on A+, just using the Meyers book. But I have to admit to having been messing with PCs for a *long* time!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. supertodd

supertodd New Member

I've got the Meyers book and a Microsoft Press book (Kate Chase) as well as all my uni notes and books. I've been messing around with them a lot too, in 'A'-Level computing, they let us build the schools new computers when we rolled out from Win 3.1 to 95 (yes this was some time ago!)

I also worked in front line IT Support as well at uni supporting WinXP / Netware clients which involved some 2nd line work (it got boring sometimes, i went pro-actively looking for PCs to fix!!)

If someone else is doing it, gives me the confidence to go ahead - don't wanna waste money on the exams to find if i've gone it alone i got no chance!!

4. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Hi there, Welcome to CF. :)

You will find that there are a lot of people here who are persuing certs on their own through self study.