New role salary expectations

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by orangepeeleo, Jul 5, 2011.

1. orangepeeleo

orangepeeleo Nibble Poster

Hi everyone,

I am currently a local support analyst.

This tax year there has been a re-org of the structure at my work, with people moving all over the place my senior local support guy moved to security and his position opened up. I applied for this, but as is the way with my employer I was turned down b/c someone else on the team had already been earmarked for this job (its the way they do internal promotions), after being told that I wasn't going to be taken forward for an interview because of x excuse I was a bit angry and had a word with my line manager saying that I understood they wanted so&so for this job and i'm aware of how they do things but I was now worried about the path to move up for me being kinda blocked.

A little while ago I was told, good news, we're going to open another senior local support role and we would like you to fill it, brilliant, I have the 'interview' tomorrow but I'm starting to get a bit wary of being shafted on the pay side of things.