New member needs some advice!!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by antera309, Feb 27, 2006.

1. antera309

antera309 New Member

Hi there!

I'm an employed IT Consultant with 9 years experience in the implementation and support of Windows NT 4.0 & 2000 networks. In this time, I have had exposure to most of the functionality in these products, albeit in small-scale environments (less than 20 Servers / 500 workstations).

This year, my Company have finally committed to financing my MCSE. Obviously, I'm wanting to obtain the latest Windows Server 2003 certification.

I know full well what shark-infested water the IT Training industry is, and am looking for some independent advice before dipping my toes in!!

My aims (in priority order) are:
    - To get "the piece of paper" and formalise knowledge I already have.
    - Learn as much as possible in the areas of IIS and SQL Server, as these are the products I work with the most in my current job.
    - Learn more about the differences between 2000 and 2003 R2 and migrations from one product to the other.

I passed the three core exams for Windows NT 4.0 back in 1999 after following a excellent CBT course. I have since done a 5-day classroom course for 2000 core, but I never sat the exams for 2000. Everything else has been on-the-job experience.

I don't get on with studying from books alone. I have a LOT of trouble committing the written word to memory, unless it is supplemented with something else. In the past, books have proved useful for reference and clarification, but that is all. Hands-on works best for me.

So that leaves classroom training, CBT or possibly a combination of both, bolstered by practical exercises in a lab (which I have)

So, those of you that DIDN'T self-study from books, what methods did you use to get through the MCSE exams and how did you find they worked for you?

What are the best CBT courses out there right now?