New Boy in town

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by unpokitoloco, Oct 3, 2006.

1. unpokitoloco

unpokitoloco Bit Poster

Hi to everybody!
    I'm a 32 year old peruvian looking for a change in life (I'm a landscaper).
    I just arrive in London and i'm looking for a institute /college to study some IT courses. I'm a totally beginner in IT , but I really like working with computers and learning about them.
    So these are my dilemas:
    - What will be the best course to start with, I was thinking : ECDL or CLAIT to start with, and then follow it with some Oracle and Microsoft SQL courses ( Databases were my first interests).
    -Then I discovered networking, so ,a college recommended me A+ certificate follow by MCSE and then a CCNA (Bickenhall college in baker street, any comments about these college?).

Now can anyone give any advice about my dilemas, If I choose Databases what courses will you recommend a did you know any serious college,
    and if I choose networking what courses will you recommend.
    Any help?
    Thanks for your time

Certifications: smaill business management
    WIP: ecdl, a+
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

ECDL is really only for absolute beginners. Those who have difficulty telling a mouse from the keyboard. :biggrin

I did it because it promised me a more structured approach to getting to grips with M$ Office rather than the piecemeal approach I had been using.

If you are comfortable with a PC and Windows, and can use Word, Excel, Powerpoint with fair ease then I think you can skip ECDL!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. unpokitoloco

unpokitoloco Bit Poster

what about starting with A+ certification ?
    thanks for your time harry!

Martin

4. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Hi there and welcome to CF, and yes A+ would be an ideal place to start :)

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  5. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member