Network Wiring Questions

Discussion in 'Networks' started by TimoftheC, Sep 3, 2007.

1. TimoftheC

TimoftheC Kilobyte Poster

Guys,

I am currently studying towards the Network+ exam with a view to starting a carer in that area or computing in general. I do not work in computing or a networked environment yet but I have a couple of questions related to a real life situation that I am not sure about.

The situation is that a friend of mine owns a small office with about 4 PCs, all networked together using wireless (through an access point only) because the current office they rent does not allow a wired network to be installed or for wires to be routed down corridors. They are about to move into a new set of offices and have what my friend described as a wired network in place (I have yet to see the new office). The friend has asked me to recommend a few more PCs but said that there is no longer a need to get them with wireless cards because they are going to use the wiring already in place.

Thinking about this has raised some questions in my mind as follows: -

The books that I have read talk about Ethernet networks but does not give any practical information about how this actually manifests itself in a physical office. If an office is wired, I have been working on the assumption that each network outlet will lead to one central location – am I right?

This begs the other question, how does the central location manifest itself. Are there multiple outlets for each other outlet in the offices (i.e. 6 offices each with a socket will mean 6 corresponding outlets in the central location) or are they just combined in to one outlet? If so, how can you tell the difference? EDIT: - is this where a patch panal comes in?

I am pretty certain that they cannot simply connect their PC’s to the network wiring and expect it to be a network as all the wires of the network have to be connected through a switch or router, again, is this right?