Network tour clips?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by kai, Jun 29, 2010.

1. kai

kai Bit Poster

Im currently revising for my network+ exam (Cant afford it, so I have alot of time to revise). I have no hands on experience on a small network, so while im learning everything in the network+ and forming a understanding on how things work, its not a true understanding.

I have a few Cisco packet tracer which Im not 100% on how to productively use because of no hands on experience.

Youtube is failing me as well, so I was wondering if anyone knew of a website or clip that would do some kind of tour of a small/medium network. Anything thats not a graphic. It would benefit my learning so much and anyone else taking this exam.

Kai.

2. kevicho

kevicho Gigabyte Poster

My advice would be to volunteer or try to get yourself a job working in a smallish company as someone who assists with the network.

Certifications are meant to validate commercial experience, and as you rightly say without hands on, its not going to click.
    The Network+ is slightly different as its basically the beginners cert but before i did mine id worked in IT for several years

If you are unemployed or on low income it may be worth seeing if there are any IT training schemes or college courses, as classroom time would be handy to actually get some of the kit in front of you.

Good luck

Last edited: Jun 29, 2010
    Certifications: A+, Net+, MCSA Server 2003, 2008, Windows XP & 7 , ITIL V3 Foundation
    WIP: CCNA Renewal
  3. kai

kai Bit Poster

I plan on taking the MCTS for windows 7 in september (if you have any other recommendations for entry level IT jobs please say! I can only afford one course and want to get the right one).