Network monitoring/management software question

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by Pete01, Dec 7, 2006.

1. Pete01

Pete01 Kilobyte Poster

I’m shooting for my first network role, I’ve had a call from an agent who is putting me forward for one. It’s a junior helpdesky type role in a NOC, the agent said I have an OK chance because I have a CCNA but they’ll want me to be able to hit the ground running.

My 7.5 years IT experience is in PC/server troubleshooting and I have no real commercial experience of networking. I did a lot of labs when I did CCNA so I can get round routers and switches but I’m anticipating that they’ll want some experience or at least knowledge of whatever monitoring software they use.

Can anyone tell me what some popular networking monitoring tools are? Maybe if I can familiarise myself with one or two I might have a chance of getting a foot in the door. Looking at job ads for some junior networking roles I see things like Ciscoworks being a requirement. I have used Solarwinds but I think that is different.

Anyone able to suggest some programs used in NOCs that I can read up on and maybe even try some demos of?

*EDIT* - Just found a demo of IPSentry - I think I've seen this one mentioned on a few job ads - can anyone tell me if it's used a lot and a good one to start messing around with?

Certifications: MCP (NT4) CCNA
    WIP: 70-669, Learning MSI packaging
  2. NetEyeBall

NetEyeBall Kilobyte Poster

I have worked in two NOCS. Compaq used CA TNG Unicenter and Whats Up Gold (which is basically just a graphical ping utility).

Currently I work in another NOC and we have used HP Openview, and am just switching to Spectrum.

For ticketing systems I have used CA Advanced Helpdesk, Tivoli, and Remedy.

I really wouldn't concern yourself with downloading the monitoring software too much. They will take you about 10 minutes to become somewhat familiar with on the job.