Need Advice !!

Discussion in 'Scripting & Programming' started by LedZeppelin42271, Sep 1, 2007.

1. LedZeppelin42271

LedZeppelin42271 New Member

Alright chaps registered onto this website, im studying for the MCDST and looking to go into programming afterwards.
    Can anyone in here give me any times on what kind of skills u need to be a good programmer and also what language should i start on, im thinking visual basic ?

8)

Certifications: Studying for MCDST
    WIP: Programming
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Not sure about what you mean by times. VB is one possible route, but reckon on about a year to become profficient enough to be useful.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. jodsclass

jodsclass Byte Poster

This is probably an old thread now, but I feel I have a few observations.

1. If you want to get into programming, what do you want to program? From experience, if your wanting to get into web based stuff, look down the java, javascript, .NET & Perl route. If your thinking about creating software, then again .NET, C++, VB etc will give you a good grounding ins oftware dev.

To be a good programmer, you need patience, a good eye for detail and a logical approach to a task. In essence you need to be able to see the whole system, so you can construct the parts. A bad programmer is someone who doesn't plan or think and just starts coding & hacking to get the desired result. Well thought out code is far less buggy, and is alot lighter in terms of code size.

Also remember, programming can rely heavily on Syntax & Mathematics, so if you excel in these areas you will go far. Anyone can program an app given enough time and reading. I'd recommending getting hold of a copy of visual studio (can prob get a trial copy) and just having a play. Make all those Hello World proggies we have all be lumbured with as novices :)

Certifications: BSc IT & Web Development
    WIP: MSc Advanced Computing, Oracle Cert