My virtual network is ALIVE

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by greenbrucelee, Mar 7, 2008.

1. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

I am using virtual PC to setup up a virtual network, I have setup 2 virtual hard disks the first running a 180 day trial of win2k3 which is downloadable from Microsoft and a 2nd running win xp.

I have those tow talking to each other but have to configure more roles for my server :blink

As I have never used virtualization software before I wasn't sure what to expect. The first thing that suprised me was that it acts exactly like a real installation, you format the virtual hard drive and create a partition then install the OS (I still have the optional components to install).

The next things that suprised me was I had to activate it as you would a real install and I had to install updates, I never expected to be connected to the net through a virtual PC.

I am quite drunk at the moment so I am not proceeding any further untill I am sober.

I am looking forward to adding a couple more OSs and messing about with user permissons and all that stuff :)

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  2. Mr.Cheeks

Mr.Cheeks 1st ever Gold Member! Gold Member

Virtualisation is just the dogs nic-naks!

This is where you will excel in all of your software based studies, for A+, permissions, accounts, IRQ, COM ports etc and if you totally mess up, not a biggy, its all virtual!

But one thing to note, if you virtual machine connects to your physical machine, dont go running any dangerous files as they may affect your physical machine depending on what you run!

3. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

VM labs have helped me a lot with understanding many different concepts. Reading just the book is not always enough for the exam or work environment, at least in a vm you actually get to experience some of the tasks.