msce or ccna ?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by uncle bernie, Apr 19, 2009.

1. uncle bernie

uncle bernie New Member

Hello all - im a newbie to the forum.

i have been looking for a new career path for sometime and have been offered a free training package with skills train - through a familly member.

so i am planning on completeing the A+ and N+ then trying to find a entry level support job to gain some experience.

The problem i have is my next decision ! because the course is free i might aswell have the MSCE/MSCA or CISCO training added on. i think if i was paying for the course myself i would just buy the A+ and N+ for now and then i could make a much better decision later on down the line when i have some experience. But i need to pick soon as its free to me now.

I dont think skills train offer the MCDST - wich is a shame.

so im totally lost on wich to pick between MCSE/MCSA or cisco.

would anyone have any thoughts or advice on wich one i should pick being new I.T ?

or where i could research the different certs in greater detail ?

many thanks

uncle bernie

WIP: A+, N+
  2. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

Either would be a bit of a waste without some experience first tbh.

Certifications: BA (Hons), MBCS, CITP, MInstLM, ITIL v3 Fdn, PTLLS, CELTA
    WIP: CMALT (about to submit), DTLLS (on hold until 2012)
  3. craigie

craigie Terabyte Poster

If it's free do whatever interests you more.

Welcome to Cert Forums!

Certifications: CCA | CCENT | CCNA | CCNA:S | HP APC | HP ASE | ITILv3 | MCP | MCDST | MCITP: EA | MCTS:Vista | MCTS:Exch '07 | MCSA 2003 | MCSA:M 2003 | MCSA 2008 | MCSE | VCP5-DT | VCP4-DCV | VCP5-DCV | VCAP5-DCA | VCAP5-DCD | VMTSP | VTSP 4 | VTSP 5
  4. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Good plan on the A+ & Network+