mixing memory speeds - DDR

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by thetokyoproject, Mar 26, 2007.

1. thetokyoproject

thetokyoproject Byte Poster

my mobo recommends ddr PC2700.

if i have an existing ddr module at PC2700, but want to add another ddr module which is higher PC rating, will this fail or will this still be compatible?

cheers.

Certifications: 271
  2. Stoney

Stoney Megabyte Poster

Depends, if you are putting in a higher frequency RAM then it may have to run with sticks at the same frequency. Some RAM is backward compatible though.

Check out Crucial's RAM Advisor and they should be able to tell you what the score is.

HTH

Edit: Just noticed they have a funky little system scanning tool as well!

Certifications: 25 + 50 metre front crawl
    WIP: MCSA - Exam 70-270
  3. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

The first lesson i learnt when i started playing with memory upgrades from a senior tech... DONT MIX SPEEDS it will only cause problems in the future or instantly! :biggrin

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  4. Raffaz

Raffaz Kebab Lover Gold Member

I always buy my RAM in matched pairs. I know plenty people who run mixed speeds and its stable, but i wouldnt do that personally. If you do run mixed speeds, then the system will run at the slower speed RAM.

Certifications: A+, MCP, MCDST, AutoCAD
    WIP: Rennovating my house
  5. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

I'll mix them. The way that I look at it is that I would rather have more memory at the lower speed than less at the higher.

I suppose though it depend on what the computer is going to do. 8)

6. twizzle

twizzle Gigabyte Poster

To be honest it all depends on the RAM and teh Mobo they go in. I've mixed RAM and sometimes its worked and been stable for years, other times it causes the system to do strange things randomly (though this could just be windosw) and at others, it just plain don't work from the start.