Microsoft SCDPM 2010 - RTM

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by Modey, May 9, 2010.

1. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

I don't know if this strictly belongs in the Virtual Computing forum, but SCDPM is great for backing up Hyper-V so maybe it does belong. :)

I have been using the RC of this for a few months now and if you have a predominatly MS environment, then it's a fantastic backup solution. It also (as mentioned) integrated very well with Hyper-V hosts and the virtual servers running on them. There are a few things that irritated me about DPM whilst using the RC but on the whole it's been pretty spot on. Hopefully they have fixed some of the irritants in the final release.

Should be available via the normal channels towards the end of May.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST, MCSA 2K3, MCTS, MOS, MTA, MCT, MCITP:EDST7, MCSA W7, Citrix CCA, ITIL Foundation
    WIP: Nada
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Sounds like you've just volunteered to do that project at work :twisted:

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. LukeP

LukeP Gigabyte Poster

We've tested it for some time too, and we too will be rolling it out when it becomes available.

As you said, great product if your environment is mostly MS. We've tested it on SQL Server, DC's, Exchange, Hyper-V, Sharepoint and File shares (which is basically all we need) and it worked out great!

Well worth the money (it's not that expensive as well).

To sum it all up I think DPM team has done a great job.

Do you think there will be MCTS for DPM 2010?

Last edited: May 9, 2010
    WIP: Uhmm... not sure
  4. Kitkatninja

I can only assume so as there is one for DPM 2007.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
  5. Kitkatninja

See here.