Microsoft and the Open University introduce innovative Degree

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by simongrahamuk, Mar 1, 2007.

1. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Microsoft and the Open University introduce innovative Degree

A new and innovative degree has been created by Microsoft and the Open University that brings the opportunity for students to incorporate their Microsoft certifications into their degree studies. Registration for the first delivery of this course is now open.

Read further information.

Got sent the above in a Microsoft Education Email.

2. Gaiden

Gaiden Bit Poster

Thanks for this, i think it's about time i get a degree, as my certifications don't seem to count as much.
    Does anyone find that degrees are more favourable than certifications within the UK.

Certifications: MCSA, Security+
  3. Sandy

Sandy Ex-Member

Hi All

As an OU student I saw this a few months back. I found it an interesting concept - the only catch is that it ONLY counts towards a Foundation Degree. I've not really worked out where a FD sits in the range of qualifications but get the feeling there are the same as an old Higher National Diploma.

Once I get my current course, T305 - Digital Comms and is this hard work or what, out of the way in Oct I'm left with just the second half of my "Level 3" courses to do and then I am finished. Don't mention the Masters I have got my eye on!!

4. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

I suspect they may be having teething problems with this one...

I'm an OU student, and signed up for MT127 on last November's intake. It only costs about £75, and all you have to do is prove that you have passed one of the recognised MS exams.

Given that the end of Nov was the cut off, I was a bit concerned by the beginning of Dec. I had received my letter confirming my enrolment, but no information about how or when to submit my evidence. So I sent them an email.