Mediocre VBA guy looking for the next step - looking for advice

Discussion in 'MCAD / MCSD / MCPD' started by henrynlouisville, Nov 21, 2013.

1. henrynlouisville

henrynlouisville New Member

Hello,

I work for a company that is a Microsoft shop...meaning they have tons of MS servers, Office Communication Server, Exchange, all Win7 desktops, full migration to Office 2010, SharePoint, current huge migration to TFS, etc. etc. It is a very large company.

Then there is me. I was hired in to a 2nd tier help desk position and do some batch scripting on the side. I have about five years experience (self taught at another job) working with WinBatch, Monarch modeling (txt extraction), and a heck of a lot of Access VBA development. I automated 100's of report runs and built custom adhoc solutions/workflow programs using Access frontend/backend setups. At my new job I actually have SQL server access and can use it as the Backend...making Access truly a frontend only. Really pretty cool.

I have finally realized that I am 42 year old man, sitting in a chair all day, playing around with ancient tools...compared to what my company currently has and is implementing. I really need to study over the summer so I'm not left behind.

So, my question is...What should I do?

Sure, I know basic HTML, VBA, WinBatch, and simple batch scripting...but that's not much.
    Worse...I don't have a clue about the tools and how to learn them.

All I know is that I LOVE dreaming up and building custom windows applications to support internal management.
    I love automating reports, ideas, processes, workflows, building ticket tracking systems, and help desk tracking systems.
    But, I have always just opened an Access form and started coding in it's module window. I don't really know how to do anything else.
    I'm clueless. I have to do something.