MCSE offered by computrain

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by sh3l5, Feb 15, 2008.

1. sh3l5

sh3l5 New Member

Hi

I have been offered an MCSE qualification through a company called computrain, which i am sure many of you will have heard of. I work in the industry and the guy has told me it will be achievable in 8 months. Apparently you are guaranteed a job at the end of the course, and the course will only cost £2750.

Now my question is does any one know of this company? And secondly is this a con?

Thanks in advance.
    Shelz.

Certifications: N+ BSc COmputer Science
    WIP: MCSE shortly!
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Beware of training companies guaranteeing you employment unless they physically can offer you a job of their own (which isn't likely).

Additionally, what constitutes a job? One where you have to commute 4 hours away? Perhaps making £5K less than you can afford? Or at a company that engages in less-than-honourable business practices, and employs a bunch of people you'd rather not have to work with? But hey, they've fulfilled the terms of the contract, right?

All that said, I have absolutely no experience with Computrain.

I typically advise that people employ self-study methods to get them through certification. I did, and I'm much better off for it.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. Alex Wright

Alex Wright Megabyte Poster