MCSE in 2 weeks!

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by Sparky, Nov 16, 2007.

1. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

No I haven’t lost the plot!

But seriously....

I have been looking at various different ways to getting the MCSE (classroom, self study, etc.) but I still cant get my head around the whole “2 week bootcamp” idea.

On paper it says, pay £7k and after 2 weeks you will be MCSE certified. WTF?

I know this is based at IT professionals that have been working in the industry for years but this doesn’t mean they will be fully up to speed with Server 2003 to pass the MCSE in that time period. There are some components in Server 2003 that I have not had to deal with in work but studying for the MCSE has shown me what these components can do. I have 5 years IT experience.

So, if the 2 week boot camp doesn’t use BDs or any other dodgy materials how does it work? Surely for most of the time you will taking the exams so this isn’t even 2 weeks of studying.

Anyone? :biggrin

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Ah, there's the rub. ;)

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

Sparky,

A boot camp is nothing more than 2 weeks, or however long they advertise it for, of braindumping. That's all it is. You sit in a class and an instructor throws material at you extremely fast. They have to cover 5-600 pages a day of books like those Sybex puts out for self-study.