MCSE & CCNA in India

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by techieguy, Oct 16, 2008.

1. techieguy

techieguy New Member

Hey guys, I will be traveling to India from NZ in January 2009. I have found an institute in New Delhi called Rooman Technologies. I will be studying for MCSE - Messaging and CCNA. MCSE is 3 months long @ 4hrs/day and CCNA is 42 days long @ 2hrs/day. Currently I am employed at a big electronics store that has branches in Australia and NZ (Dick Smith Electronics). I am a pro with computer hardware and software. I know Windows XP, Vista, Win 98 like anything. Networking is my favourite subject. I Look after a linux box running squid and acting as a firewall.

My question is that, is my current level of knowledge going to help me with MCSE and CCNA? I have never studied active directory or IIS or even Microsoft exchange. How easy is it going to be for me to understand MCSE material? Is it pretty much Win XP stuff but with extra security material in server 2003? Is 90 day boot camp enough for MCSE?

PS - Travelling to India because it's going to save me over $5000 after paying for plane ticket, exam fees etc....costs $50/exam in India for MCSE, wheras it costs $205/exam in NZ for MCSE.

Also need your advice on this. Am I better off to do MCSE 2003 rather than MCITP? I say this because when I look at job availability for System admin, everyone mentions MCSE 2003. I guess I can always upgrade to MCITP later or should I do MCITP?

The MCSE 2003 review thread gave me very helpful tips so thanks to the thread OP.

Thanks

2. FlashDangerpants

FlashDangerpants Byte Poster

I'll leave it to others to warn you of the dangers of getting too far ahead of yourself with these certs. I think you are going to get warned not to do them all up front.