MCSE/A or MCITP - advice needed.

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Stuka, Apr 8, 2012.

1. Stuka

Stuka Nibble Poster

Hi all,

I'm at a bit of a crossroads at the moment. I've attained the Comptia A+, N+ and MCDST certs. Now the last time I did an exam was about 2 years ago, and I've since decided to revive my studying.

I was planning on doing the MCSE or the MCSA. But after doing a bit of reading, I don't know whether it's worth it.

I've been an IT Tech at a school for 5 years now, and I've got experience with Server 2003, AD, Windows XP, Vista, Win 7 and Mac OSX 10.6 & 10.7.

I'm looking at doing the MCITP Server Administrator exams. With 5 years experience, do you think it's worth it? I mean, we still use Server 2003 at work, but I do have some experience with 2008 (we have a few 2008 servers).

I'm torn between the MCSE/A or just jumping straight onto the MCITP cert. What concerns me the most is legacy certs. I'm not sure if the MCSE/A is worth it and I'd rather chance my arm at aiming to pass a more recent 2008-based set of exams...

Advice would be great.

Last edited: Apr 8, 2012
    Certifications: IT 2:1 Degree, A+, N+, MCDST
    WIP: MCITP
  2. soundian

soundian Gigabyte Poster

Tough one. It's going to take you 3 exams to achieve either the MCSA or the MCITP:SA so it's probably going to be down to which technology you feel is most important.

One idea might be to do the MCSA then upgrade to MCITP:SA. It would take 2 more exams than just doing the MCITP, but one of them would be and MCTS in W7 (680), so you would get 2 extra certs for doing 2 extra exams. A good option if your experience means you can pass the 290 and 291 without too much effort.

Certifications: A+, N+,MCDST,MCTS(680), MCP(270, 271, 272), ITILv3F, CCENT
    WIP: Knuckling down at my new job
  3. ade1982

ade1982 Megabyte Poster