MCSA/MCSE Direction

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by zimbo, Aug 30, 2005.

1. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

I just got an email from my new employees (which i start working for on thurs) about certifications and it seems to have made me wondering. Im in my last year of BTEC and had intended in finishing B.Sc Comp Networking in the UK BUT after two years of slugging i finally cracked the shell and landed an Support/Network job - WHICH CHANGES THINGS!

1)Im intending to stay here and get experience but is this the right thing at the moment? Im 20 years old so i would say i got a lot of time to get my degree..

2)Now the part that i want help on I can do certs at half price! At the moment im re-doing my A+ from an in-house A+ from Zimbabwe and since joining CF have had my eyes opened! :eek:
    I got 3 months experience before this job so im very entry-level but keen to learn... CCNA looks too far at the moment hence after studying the MS site i decided MCSA/MCSE.

Here is what i got in mind..
    After the A+ go for Network+ -i can use this for my MCSA then start 70-270. I would like to finish up with MCSE Security so after that Security+ those 4 will hopefully take me through to about feb/march next year where I intend in getting the MCSE and MCSE:Security! :ohmy :ohmy

This all sounds nice but im still not sure if its possible thats what i want know from your experiences???

Im going to mix self-study (mostly) with some classes... i have access to FREE tutor support so i think i can do what i intend in doing...

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Anything is possible.

You have set yourself a very realistic target and if you can should try to stick to it.

I see no reason why you can't achieve A+, Network+, and 70-270 by feb / mar next year. Just keep putting the effort in.