MCSA 2000 - recommended elective(s)?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Hster, Jun 30, 2005.

1. Hster

Hster New Member

Hi all.

Having lurked for a while I thought I might pick everyones' brains.

Having worked for about 4 and a half years for a 'Power Dialler' company supporting a proprietary product (which uses Windows NT4 Server and AIX Unix), I've chucked it in and I'm now studying for my MCSA.

I'm following the MCSA 2000 path (seems to me that there are still lots of companies on the 2000 platform) and intend to take the 'conversion' exam at the end to get the MCSA 2003 certification as well (hopefully covering all bases).

I passed the 70-210 exam last week and realise that I now need to pass 70-215 and 70-218. However, I'm unsure what the best elective would be to take for the fourth and final (MCSA 2000) exam.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Is there an exam that is particularly useful / highly valued? Or should I think about the Security or Messaging track perhaps?

Any thoughts would be much appreciated. Thanks.

2. KeithNN

KeithNN Byte Poster

Personally I'd recommend the Server 2003 track - there's very little difference with just a few extra bells and whistles - and would save you money/time doing the update exams.

For an elective I'd suggest the Security (it's 299 for 2003 track, not sure with the 2000 without looking it up).

Certifications: MCSA/MCSE, MCDST, MOS Mstr, Sec+,Net+,A+
    WIP: 70-284
  3. Phoenix
    Honorary Member

Phoenix 53656e696f7220 4d6f64

What he said

Certifications: MCSE, MCITP, VCP
    WIP: > 0
  4. Hster

Hster New Member

KeithNN, Phoenix - thank you both for your comments.