MCPD Advice Needed - Desktop OR Web!?

Discussion in 'MCAD / MCSD / MCPD' started by 30secondstosam, Feb 18, 2012.

1. 30secondstosam

30secondstosam New Member

Hi all,

I'm really desperate for some guidence and advice about the MCPD. I am currently working as a Systems Developer, I have had just over 4 years experience developing bespoke applications (and working on 3rd party apps) in various difference languages. C#, VB, even VBA. I'd say 90% of this has been deskop developing and about 10% developing for web, PHP mainly.

I want to drive forward in my career and I was told by a IT Software Manager that the best option for me would be to do a MCPD. I was dead set on doing an MCPD in desktop development until I went and had a look at jobs (in the London area). It appears that desktop development jobs just aren't as popular as they used to be. So now I'm thinking about doing it in web development. However, would I struggle to get a job after because my experience has been in desktop developing or would it be looked at as general development experience?
    I'm concernd that I need to make the right decision before I spend a lot of money on this certificate...

Also, I am lookin at going into contracting as it pays more and I don't need a stable job at this period in my life. I'm wondering if there is anyone who can advise me about that too and how I can get into contracting?

Many thanks for your help !!!

2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

If you want to get certified, get certified in what you know or have most experience in.
    Don't obsess about what you think might be more useful in the future.
    Certify in what you know, then study and gain experience in what you want to do next.

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  3. 30secondstosam

I am concerned about the lack of jobs though. I'd rather go down the route that will be most rewarding for me financially too, seeing as I will be paying a lot for this certification..