MCP and Job Prospects

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by UKDarkstar, Nov 3, 2008.

1. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

Hi guys

I've just been advised that due to my circumstances the Jobcentre will fun the payment for 1 MS exam.

I just have to decide which 1 !

So brief overview for those that haven't read my prev posts :

Had my own IT co which went bust last year (not enough bus coming in). Been in IT for 10 years, employed engineers etc as business grew. Got MBCS and was MS Partner for 7/8 years so done many Partner technical courses etc.

I've got all the MCSE books and have just pulled out the test questions from the cd and gone thru them.

So do I ....

Take 70-270 on Xp cos I know more of that stuff straight off

or ..

take 70-290 'cos the Server exam will look better on CV in terms of knowledge and be the best to get me back into work ?

Bear in mind I've been surviving on benefits for 6 months so time is a big factor.

I reckon I could knock off the Xp in a couple of weeks with what I already know (and I'm only sat at home twiddling my thumbs and trawling jobsites) but would prob need 3/4 weeks for server.

I've got the second shot voucher as a safeguard.

Undecided which way to jump but have to decide by Friday as I have to show them the details for the exam I'm gonna sit.

Thoughts /suggestions ?

Certifications: BA (Hons), MBCS, CITP, MInstLM, ITIL v3 Fdn, PTLLS, CELTA
    WIP: CMALT (about to submit), DTLLS (on hold until 2012)
  2. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

I'd got for both if there was that option, but to get MCP status on your CV I'd go for the 70-290 instead.

Certifications: MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003 Messaging, MCP, HNC BIT, ITIL Fdn V3, SDI Fdn, VCP 4 & VCP 5
    WIP: MCTS:70-236, PowerShell
  3. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

I'm afraid life is such that it's one or the other (got a big mortgage and under, shall we say, severe financial pressure).