MCITP:EA & CCNA

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by S0l5, Mar 8, 2008.

1. S0l5

S0l5 Bit Poster

Hello, at the moment i'm in the processing of upgrading my MCSE 2003 to MCITP: EA. I'm currently studying the 70-620 (windows vista). Can someone correct me if im wrong but you need to set the following exams to be able to upgrade:

Exam 70-647
    Exam 70-620
    Exam 70-648

I'v booked the 70-620 for the 22nd of march and at the moment i havent even opened the book yet, going to try and fit in two weeks of cram session 4-5 hours on the weekends and 2-3 hours every day, doesnt really matter if i fail or not thanks to microsofts 2nd shot offer!!! Also i'll be starting a new job in march as well with an international telecommunication company and they want me to do the CCNA. I havent really looked at the CCNA before but im confused, is there two version? The network academy and another one, iv forgotten the other one. What books would you recommend? I'm hoping to do it in 2 months tops really.

2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

No, not 70-648. That's the MCSA upgrade exam. You need 70-649.

Why don't you use the Certification Planner on the MCP site?

No, there's not two versions... but you can take either one exam (640-802) or two separate exams (640-822 and 640-816) to get your CCNA. Neither the one-exam track or the two-exam track relate to whether you take Network Academy or not. Network Academy is just a training program that you can take to study for the CCNA.

The choice to take the single exam or two separate exams is entirely up to you.

For Cisco exams, I usually recommend Cisco Press and Sybex books. But 2 months? How much real world IT experience do you have? If you've worked with Cisco gear before, it might be possible...