MCDST study can it be done using textbooks alone

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by jamie 1, Jan 31, 2011.

1. jamie 1

jamie 1 Bit Poster

Hi everybody,

I've just joined so hello and I'm new to IT. Iwant to do the MCDST certification to break into IT.I've looked for courses but they all seem to be distance learning courses. Is it possible to study this via distance learning or could you do it on your own using textbooks. Also are there any recommended text books for this course. Because I would have thought that you really needed to be getting practical experience actually going through each lesson on a computer to be really able to understand the MCDST and pass it. But then again I could be wrong. It would be really great if anyone would help. All advice from all you knowledgeable people would be greatly appreaciated.Thanks.

Jamie.

2. Solkazo

Solkazo Bit Poster

Ofcause, any exam can be done with pure text book it simply depends on your learning style.

I read text books regularly but always find i retain information alot better when i am watching someone else do it or pracicing on a home labs set up.
    You can ofcause get your self a free copy of a virtual machine and practice on that (saves you having to spend money on additional computers and equipment for a home lab).

Certifications: HND Computing and Business
    WIP: Exam 70-680
  3. ethernet0

ethernet0 Byte Poster

Hi Jamie,

You've not long left to pass the required exams before they retire so whatever you do you need to action it quickly. Distance learning courses are a complete rip-off, you'll gain nothing what you can't do at home and utilizing forums such as this one with any questions.

I haven't done these exams so I'll leave it to others to recommend study guides etc. Nevertheless, quality study guides, video training material (such as CBT nuggets) and a professional exam suite (Boson/Transcender) should set you up nicely for the live exam (along with hands on lab work of course).